Posted by: Dr P | February 25, 2008

Forgetting Sarah Marshall

From the team that brought us two of the funniest films in recent memory “Superbad” and “Knocked Up” comes this tale of love, break-up and running into your ex and her new boyfriend in Hawaii. Ah yes, that old cliche. The eponymous lead, Sarah, is the star of a hit – and very cheesy and camp – detective series, while her boyfriend Peter composes the music for the programme. As the film opens, the pair break up in spectacular fashion – he’s completely naked – which gives us several belly laughs as he attempts to keep hugging her while starkers, bits wobbling all over the shop. Marvellous. It turns out that Sarah has been having an affair with Aldous Snow, a rock star, played deliciously by Russell Brand.

So Pete decides to forget his troubles and go on vacation to Hawaii. The receptionist, Rachel, takes pity on him and books him in at an exclusive 6000 dollar a night suite. Predictably Sarah and Aldous are also at the resort, which leads to all kinds of hysterical encounters.

I haven’t laughed this much at a film in years. There were points where I literally had to stuff my hand in my mouth to stop myself becoming hysterical. If you go with someone, try using theirs – it’ll be more fun.

There are so many hilarious bits, watch out for Pete’s performance of a song from his “puppet musical” about Dracula in a Hawaiian bar, the entire cameo by Paul Rudd (Mike from friends) as a stoned surf teacher, Jonah Hill as a hotel employee obsessed with Aldous, the scenes in which Pete talks to his friends on webcam, and pretty much every scene with Russell Brand, who is a revelation. There’s also a fantastic side story involving a couple of newly weds. The wife is horny as anything but the husband has certain religious “issues”. Just wonderfully written.

I’m attempting to write this review while talking to some mates on webcam and it’s incredibly distracting. YMCA was good, though 😉

One of the important questions in life concerns whether a turtle without its shell is naked or homeless. Personally, I like to think of it as dinner. If that doesn’t settle the debate, then let’s go into detail. A shell is a protective casing, does that really count as clothing OR a home? I say NAY. If it’s a mutant ninja turtle, you can argue that the shell forms part of the outfit and hence IS clothing, but does a normal, non Renaissance-named* turtle have clothes? No. Unless you’re a freaky American pet owner who dresses one up. Sicko. A turtle in captivity could really say that its home is the zoo or the area of the zoo in which it resides. So the shell really isn’t “home”. Does that help?

* yes I know they’re not Renaissance names but I can’t think straight right now.

Kate’s asked for some “sexy naked pics” in the review so …

*there were some guitar pick pics here but they wudnt copy (Paul I need a new way of posting these)*

sexy naked pic(k)s

Sorry. FB rules and all that …

Anyway back to the film. Pete starts to fall for Rachel, the sexy receptionist, and let’s be honest, she’s far better in every way that Sarah. She, meanwhile, gets dumped by Aldous, tries to get back together with Pete, but he spurns her advances (just). Pete goes back home and finally produces his Dracula puppet musical which is hysterical in itself, and it all ends rather happily.

Just to get you into the mood, here are some quotes. I’m not sure they’ll be as funny out of context, but I don’t care, I’ve seen the film and they’re still fab!

“When life hands you lemons, fuck the lemons and bail.” – Kunu (Chuck)

“I need to B my L on someone’s T’s.” – Peter

“Come on out. Oh, the weather outside is weather.” Kunu (Chuck) singing

“God put our mouths on our head for a reason. No!” – Darald

“Oh ok, I’ll just go fuck myself then.” – Matthew

“Die! I Cant.” – David singing a Dracula rock song

“When they mix the sexuality and the violence, I like it” – Darald

“I was gonna listen to that, but then, um, I just carried on living my life” – Aldous

“my penis doesn’t want to be around you” – Peter

Leave a Reply

Categories

